Advisory Board

Members of the SPIA Advisory Board are accomplished professionals from the public, private, and non-profit sectors with a wide range of international expertise and experiences. They provide advice to SPIA’s  faculty and staff on issues regarding the program’s strategic direction, its mutual responsibility to the people of Maine, and its relationship with the international community.

Mr. Daniel Churchill, Chair
Former Vice President Finance of Avis Europe PLC; Washington, DC
UMaine Class of ’63

Ambassador William M. Bellamy (Ret.), Vice Chair
Senior Adviser for Africa at the Center for Strategic and International Studies and former U.S. Ambassador to Kenya; Washington, DC

H.E. Prof. Jamal Sanad Al-Suwaidi
Director General of the Emirates Center for Strategic Studies and Research (ECSSR); Abu Dhabi, UAE

Dr. Michael Beevers
Associate Professor of Environmental Studies, Dickinson College; Carlisle, PA

Mr. Thomas M. Deford
Former President of the Mid-Coast Forum on Foreign Relations; Spruce Head, ME

Ambassador Anne Hall
Former U.S. Ambassador to Lithuania
UMaine Class of ’81

Admiral Gregory G. Johnson, USN (Ret.)
Fmr. Commander, U.S. Naval Forces Europe and Commander in Chief Allied Forces, Southern Europe; Harpswell, ME
UMaine Class of ’68

Ms. Lorraine Kouao
Program Coordinator, Work Exchanges at CIEE Council on International Educational Exchange
UMaine Global Policy ’21

Ms. Anna McGinn
Policy Associate, Environmental and Energy Study Institute; Washington, DC
UMaine Global Policy ’19

Ms. Marjorie Murray Medd
Former Trustee of the UMS and founding Board member; Norway, ME

Mr. Wade Merritt
President and State Director of International Trade, Maine International Trade Center; Portland, ME
UMaine Class of ’96

Ambassador Marcelle M. Wahba (Ret.)
President Emeritus and Distinguished Fellow, The Arab Gulf States Institute in Washington; Former U.S. Ambassador to the United Arab Emirates; Washington, DC

Ambassador Pamela A. White (Ret.)
Former U.S. Ambassador to Haiti and The Gambia; Orr’s Island, ME
UMaine Class of ’71

Ex Officio:

Dr. Kody Varahramyan, Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School

Dr. Emily A. Haddad, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

CAPT James D. Settele, USN (Ret.), SPIA Director

Mr. Kenneth M. Hillas, Jr., Adjunct Professor of International Affairs

Ms. Siobhan Pierce
Program Associate – Women’s Democracy Network at International Republican Institute; Washington, DC
UMaine Global Policy ’18